Hi everyone!! My name is Jivan Cheema, and I am Twenty-One years old!

I am currently in my fourth year at UBC, pursuing the B+MM program. My undergraduate focus is in Arts with a major in sociology, and then I am working towards my masters in management through Sauder. Originally from White Rock, which is about 45 minutes from Vancouver. But I currently live in Dunbar with my friends – Sam and Prikita 🙂 Growing up in White Rock was amazing because I loved being right by the beach. I would spend my summers at the beach with my friends getting ice cream and pier jumping; even in high school when I got my license, we would go down to the beach for lunch! I am very grateful to have been able to grow up like this as the beach continues to be one of my favorite places!

I am OBSESSED with the colour pink and Barbie, so my friends and I named our house the Dunbar Dreamhouse. We are all very social people and love hosting people at our place. We love to have our friends over for a poker night, movie night, games night, etc!! Ever since I was little my favorite show has been Friends, so living in a house with my bestie has been such an exciting time. 

My family loves to travel, so I have been very fortunate to have visited many places!! I’ve been to Mexico, India, Jamaica, The Bahamas, Tortola, and some other places. I have also developed a love for traveling so I hope to take some time after I graduate to explore the world on my own 🙂 I would love to live in a new place for a couple of months, maybe somewhere in Australia or Europe. 

After I am traveling I will come back to UBC to finish my masters. With my degree, I would love to work in fashion or public relations. Ever since I was a little girl I have been obsessed with fashion. I would even try to design my own clothes – dresses and skirts I could wear to school. 

Anyways, I have never taken a romance studies course before – to be honest when I saw romance on SSC I was so intrigued as I did not know courses like these existed. At first when I came to this class I was a bit nervous with the amount of readings BUT I do enjoy reading on my own time so I am hoping it won’t be bad! I am really excited to learn about how languages impact literature and be able to compare different works from different time periods as well 🙂 

3 responses to “About Me!”

  1. Welcome to the course, Jivan! I hope we can help you with your goal of learning about how language impacts literature.

    Like

  2. Hi Jivan! I loved reading your blog post I also am a HUGE travel fan. I’ve travelled so many places with my family and it’s been the best ever. I am so excited to continue to travel the world! How was the Bahamas? I would LOVE to go there. We should book a trip together soon! Let me know :))))

    Like

  3. Jivan, I think it’s wonderful that you like to travel… some of the novels we will read will give you images of the places where the plots take place. You will not regret having enrolled in this course, especially when you choose the books that interest you. Welcome!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started