Matryoshka Dolls but its stories and real people ?!

Hi everyone!! 

I hope you had a great long weekend 🙂 This weekend was actually my brother’s birthday so I went with him and a few of my friends to Whistler to celebrate. Normally I have read most of our books as a PDF on my ipad, but in honour of this being our LAST BOOK – OMG CRAZY I CAN’T EVEN BELIEVE IT, I ordered it on amazon to read the physical copy. It was so nice and refreshing to read this while road tripping, UGH i forget how nice reading on a scenic drive is. 

So this week I read faces in the crowd by Valeria Luiselli. This was a really interesting read and the author did a great job playing with the concept of reality and perception and stories. The concept of all these stories intertwined and connected reminds me of those matryoshka dolls, you know like the doll within a doll, within a doll etc. I enjoyed reading it a lot. When I started reading this book it reminded me about another book I’ve read called Verity. Verity focuses a lot on the concept of what is real, and leaves the reader questioning everything they have just read. It’s an amazing book. I would definitely recommend it if you haven’t read it already. 

I made the immediate connection to Verity when reading the confusion her husband struggles with when reading her manuscripts, from what is true and what is not true. Because as she claims this is only just a book, it is just fiction … right? Verity is quite similar, a woman goes to a home of an author who is in a comatose state as she is hired to ghost write her last book. While looking through her notes she finds a journal of her thoughts and interactions, and she discovers quite disturbing content. We begin to see this ugly narrative of the lady in the coma and believe it is all true, yet later once she wakes she claims none of it was real and it was just a writing exercise to get in character for the book she was writing. We as readers begin to struggle to understand what was true and what was not. 

This obsession of writing and using bizarre methods to write reminded me of our narrator who also seems quite obsessed with her writing about Owen. Even in the book she writes “By now it’s an elaborate lie, repeated to myself so often that it’s come to form part of my repertory of events, indistinguishable from any other memory.” which was interesting to me. She has what seems almost like an unhealthy need to write this story.

Discussion Question: How do you navigate between what’s real and what’s imagined in your own life, especially when faced with complex narratives or experiences?

2 responses to “Matryoshka Dolls but its stories and real people ?!”

  1. Jivan, happy birthday to your brother! I’m glad you were able to find some fun time over the long weekend. I’m getting a lot of fomo from the scenic drive+ reading! Also loved the analogy you chose. I think it is definitely one way to look at the different parts of the story. Different entities within a bigger one. Believe it or not – I’ve read Verity too! IT’s interesting that you made that connection. 

    Thanks for your comment!

    • Tesi

    Like

  2. Hi Jivan! I loved reading your blog post for this week, it’s so interesting to analyse the book from its aspect of what’s fictional and what’s not. She does seem obsessed with the idea of writing from the perspective of Owen (if that even is how it’s supposed to be like), and the obsession almost looks like some sort of escape from her life as a mother, very different from her past life. To answer your question, sometimes it really is hard to distinguish between what’s real and what’s fictional, especially when it comes to memories and dreams.. I’m not sure how I navigate through it, but it’s something I think about a lot, that’s a very interesting question. Also Verity sounds super interesting!! Thank you for the recommendation, I’ll definitely try it.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started