Well folks there we have it, another school year comes to a close! 

This course has definitely been one of the more interesting classes I’ve taken in my four years at UBC, and I got to say even though I picked this course because I saw romance in the title and was very intrigued and thought it would be something to do with romance, I was pleasantly surprised by the course. 

I have to say I think more professors should do a contract grading course, since I think this is the only class this year that I never skipped… I tend to struggle to show up to classes sometimes because I’ve realized a lot of the time I learn more outside of class doing the work on my own then sitting in lectures. This is because I struggle with zoning out and then missing everything covered. That being said, I also liked the structure of the lectures, breaking off into mini group discussion throughout class truly helped me stay focused and actually learn/retain the information being said. Plus I like how we as a class were able to contribute to the conversations and lectures. 


Despite some of the texts covered in this class being a little difficult to understand and follow, I am grateful that by taking this course I was able to expand my reading horizons. I was pushed outside of my comfort zone and able to read books I probably would never gravitate towards in my normal life. So thank you for that!! I think some of the books that truly stuck out to me were first the last book we read, Faces In The Crowd, and then The Trenchcoat. These are the books that I’ll probably share with my friends as recommendations. ALSO the fact that this class has already helped me hit my goodreads book goal for the year even though it’s only been 4 months is WILD. ANYWAYS… I loved how the books in the syllabus all cover such a wide range of themes yet they all perfectly fit together. 

I definitely think I have changed a lot as a person from before I took this course, and have shifted and changed into a, I guess I could say better person, but not sure if that’s the exact thing I am trying to get at. I will definitely say though that I have become a stronger reader thanks to reading so many books at a higher reading level (or different writing styles then I am used to) and that has been really cool for me to see my personal growth and progression over the course. 

To wrap it up once and for all, thank you all for such an amazing term, I have loved reading everyone’s thoughts and perspectives on the books we covered through such funny and interesting blog posts. I hope you all have an amazing summer and wish you all luck in your future endeavors!!

Here is my final question for y’all: 

If you could live in one of our books, which one would it be, would you want to be a specific character or a random bystander just watching the plot develop? 

PCE OUT HOMIES !!

3 responses to “PEACE OUT HOMIES !!!”

  1. “I was pushed outside of my comfort zone“. AHA! That is our entire intention in this course. It has also been a very pleasant experience for us to read what you think and feel when reading the novels. We also like to surprise ourselves with everything you contribute. Thank you for all your work this term 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Jivan, thanks for a great last blog post! I agree that more classes should be contract based, it really allows for more flexibility and student engagement. To answer your question, I would want to live in ‘Death with Interruptions’. Although I didn’t love the book, I did find it interesting and I would like to know what I would do if I lived in a world where death had just stopped. I feel like I’d live everyday like its my last…possibly commit some crimes (nothing too bad…just arson).

    Like

  3. I would like to be the gecko in the Book of Chameleons! I think it would be fun to be a little creature roaming around and watching life around me. I also liked the true crime aspect of this novel, so I feel like it would be a fitting choice for me. -Julia Wouters

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started